Are the Experiences of a Black Man in the U.K. Different than those in the U.S?

Tales of An African American Living in the U.K.

Guy Nave
2 min readJun 26, 2022
Yep, that’s me!!

My experience on Medium has been wonderful thus far. I began publishing “regularly” during February this year.

I greatly appreciate the support, responses, and feedback of those of you who follow me or simply engage with my articles.

I am beginning a new endeavor that I hope to chronicle here on Medium. It is called “Tales of An African American Living in the U.K.

I am a professor at Luther College in Decorah, IA (USA). I will be directing the Luther College Nottingham program for the 2022–2023 academic year.

My wife and I depart for Nottingham tomorrow (6/27/22). I have decided to chronicle my time in Nottingham on a YouTube channel.

The channel is NOT about the Luther College course. It is simply about my experiences as an African American man living in the U.K. I am particularly interested in comparing my “racialized” experiences living in the U.K with my experiences living in the U.S.

This is my FIRST experience with a YouTube channel and creating YouTube videos. I have absolutely no idea what I am doing, but hopefully, I will get better over time!

--

--

Guy Nave

I LOVE thoughtful and challenging engagement! That's why I read and write on Medium. If you enjoy the same, keep in touch. I always respond.